top of page

Dealing with Trolls

Updated: Jul 26, 2022

The Satisfaction is shutting them up following the rules.


Their satisfaction is getting you mad or harassing you, if they get neither you just ruined their day. Be better then the troll not superior but better don't stoop to their level.


Troll A troll or troller in internet slang is someone that starts arguments or upsets people by posting off-topic or extraneous messages in some type of online community. Their goal is to cause people to get emotional and to harass people online.


Sh*tposts fall into this category: a deliberately provocative or off-topic comment posted on social media, typically in order to upset others or distract from the main conversation. Shitposts can be many things including memes, spam, and bait.


Please look at the Desiderata Poem below. As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons.


Generally you can't change others, you can only change how you react. I had an event in my life where I now want to do no harm to others (emotional or physical or in any way). Were that event to occur today and I had no other recourse the result would be the same, but I would do everything I could so it did not happen.


Arguing with a troll is like wrestling with a pig, you both get dirty and the pig likes it. Don't stoop down to a trolls level, give them the opportunity to stop trolling you. After their first chat ban they generally leave you alone, the satisfaction comes in knowing they want to do it again but won't because they don't want to get banned.


Your Options:

  • Don't Respond (Take a screen shot showing Computer Tool Bar time and date)

  • Respond: Date only (to be used if needed for documentation)

  • Respond: Tell them to stop, they are violating WOT Policy, and give WOT Policy Links.

“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.”


Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die tomorrow


Be the better person. If you stoop down to the trolls level you risk being banned yourself (have had that happen 😛)


Report a troll only as a last resort. At 50,000 games I had only reported 5 people.


Here is what I tell trolls:


You are violating WOT Policy. Getting banned taught me a lesson maybe getting banned will teach you a lesson. 1. Stop harrassing me. 2. I will start taking screen shots of your WOT Violations. 3. I have only reported 3 people in 30k games. 4. At some point I will report you if you continue to harrass me.


Date and Time: xx/xx/2021 x:xx pm PST (PDT)

Stop, I don't appreciate your troll comments.

I will start taking screen shots

At some point if you continue I will report you.

I have only reported 5 people in 50,000 games.

You are violating WOT policy, here are the links to WOT Policy Violations please review them to avoid violating WOT Policies:


http://forum.worldoftanks.eu/index.php?/forum-29/announcement-26-world-of-tanks-game-rules/

http://forum.worldoftanks.asia/index.php?/forum-0/announcement-55-code-of-conduct/

https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/23377/


Know when to put your ego aside and silently disagree (what I say to myself).


Variations


Date and Time: xx/xx/2021 8:13 pm PST (PDT)

Your comment violates WOT Policy and could get you banned. I am advising you to stop violating WOT policy. I will take a screen shot of any future violations or troll comments. If you persist at some point and time I will report you. I have only reported 4 people in 45k games. Here is a suggestion, the following links have show WOT Violations, please review them to avoid violating WOT Policy in the future.


You have had your troll moment, now move along. Why don't you keep your comments to yourself or your friends. I don't carry on conversations with trolls. I am advising you to stop violating WOT policy. I will take a screen shot of any future troll comments. If you persist at some point and time I will report you. I have only reported 4 people in 45k games.


Below are some examples of what I say, I don't use all of them at the same time.


Reporting someone is a last resort when other means have failed. Why don't you blacklist me like most trolls do.


Please familiarize you self with WOT violations they include: Taunting, un-sportsman like conduct, personal insults. You seem to a callous person with no respect or regard for others.


Why don't you keep your comments to yourself or your friends. I don't carry on conversations with trolls. I will take a screen shot of any future troll comments

After the 3rd time I report you to WOT. Generally it takes 3 - 7 days. I have only reported 3 people in 45k games.


I have asked you to stop, I am asking you again to stop. Most trolls just blacklist me, they find it is not worth their time. I am patient and when you have worn my patience thin, then and only then will I report you. I have not had a troll bother me after I have reported them.


Until I report you I will just keep documenting it.

Here are the links to WOT violations:

mnstc http://forum.worldoftanks.eu/index.php?/forum-29/announcement-26-world-of-tanks-game-rules/http://forum.worldoftanks.asia/index.php?/forum-0/announcement-55-code-of-conduct/https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/23377/https://worldoftanks.com/en/news/general-news/rules-violations-policy-updates/https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/1


If you ever message me again with a Troll comment I will report you. I am taking a screen shot. Blacklist me now most trolls do. To date I have only had to report one person out of 45 thousand games. I realize the ban is temporary but it does seem to shut the trolls up. I have used other ways but this is so much easier.


Not everything above is used, generally I tell them to stop, and advise them I am taking screen shots.

 

Watch your thoughts, they become your words; watch your words, they become your actions; watch your actions, they become your habits; watch your habits, they become your character; watch your character, it becomes your destiny.


I don't deal in derisive chat with trolls, go away, , if you continue to harrass me I will take a screen shot and report you.


I agree I am not a real good player, that is obvious to even the casual observer.


You have two text to say everything you want to say, on the third text I report you with a screen shot of all conversation. I don't engage in derisive chat with trolls.


I don't engage in chat which violates WOT policy, should you contnue to engage in chat which violates  WOT policy I will take a screen shot and report you.


If you continue engaging in chat which violates WOT policy I will take a screen shot and report you after the third message.


xxxThePotato most of your battles are in artillery

xxxThePotato go seek mental help

xxxThePotato itll improve your quality of life

mnstc You are violating wot policy and are subject to being reported. The fun I get from trolls like you is after you get banned you leaved me alone, even though you want to say something.

mnstc In 50k games I have only reported 5 people, they were not very fast learners.

mnstc Your disposition might improve if you stop trolling

mnstc Here is a suggestion, the following links have a list of WOT Violations, I suggest you review them.https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/18979/http://forum.worldoftanks.eu/index.php?/forum-29/announcement-26-world-of-tanks-game-rules/ http://forum.worldoftanks.asia/index.php?/forum-0/announcement-55-code-of-conduct/ https://na.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wot/article/23377/ https://worldoftanks.com/en/news/general-news/rules-violations-policy-updates/https://na.war

mnstc God bless and have a really good day.

mnstc 10/20/2021 Ghost Town Time 11:21 EST



“People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.”


I am not seeing the light.


If they leave me alone then I don't report them, if they continue to troll me then they get reported.


Even trolls have families, look at the picture below the picture below.



Even trolls have families.


Desiderata

GO PLACIDLY amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons.


Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.


Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit. If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain or bitter, for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.


Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans. Keep interested in your own career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.

Exercise caution in your business affairs, for the world is full of trickery. But let this not blind you to what virtue there is; many persons strive for high ideals, and everywhere life is full of heroism.


Be yourself. Especially do not feign affection. Neither be cynical about love; for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment, it is as perennial as the grass.


Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.


Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.


Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself. You are a child of the universe no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here.


And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should. Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be. And whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul. With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be cheerful. Strive to be happy.

By Max Ehrmann © 1927 Original text

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by MNSTC Steel Rain. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page